In these 57 weekly Sunday morning teachings from January 2012 to February 2013, Gelek Rimpoche introduces Buddha’s transformative message through the goals and methods of Tibetan Buddhism, helping us to see, session by session, the personal applicability of Buddha’s life-changing realizations for our lives today.

Tibetan Buddhism with Gelek Rimpoche 55

4 characteristics of the First Noble Truth

Impermanence, suffering, emptiness and selflessness are the four characteristics of the Truth of Suffering. Knowing impermanence forces us to confront our priorities in life and to choose virtue over non-virtue. Suffering is our reality of contaminated existence. Emptiness means in this case that everything is based on causes and conditions, but that allows us to influence conditions and create causes. Selflessness means the lack of a solid self.

Video and audio players remember last position of what you are currently playing. If playing multiple videos, please make a note of your stop times.

Audio Only

Tibetan Buddhism Talks
Members Area

Chaplaincy Training

On Demand Subscription



Online Courses