In these weekly Sunday morning teachings spanning from March 2013 to December 2014, Gelek Rimpoche elaborates on the “Tibetan Buddhism” series, with the earlier sessions on the foundational Compassion for Oneself meditations, laying the ground work for the later sessions emphasizing Great Compassion for all living beings.

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism 49

The Mahayana Path – from Theravada to Vajrayana

Mahayana is based on Theravada principles like Four Noble Truths and 12 links of dependent origination. Wisdom is common to both, but bodhimind is the distinction. Most people develop bodhimind first, but some develop wisdom before bodhimind. According to Theravada, personal nirvana and buddha hood are two ultimate results. Theravada acknowledges buddha hood but does not teach a method to reach it.

According to Mahayana, everyone will eventually achieve buddhahood. Those who have attained the personal nirvana of the Theravada will enter the Mahayana path at the path of seeing. The Mahayana sutra path shows the way to buddha hood over 3 countless eons. Vajrayana can bring buddha hood in one life time, based on practicing development stage and completion stage.

Video and audio players remember last position of what you are currently playing. If playing multiple videos, please make a note of your stop times.

This Sunday webcast, May 25, 2014, was sponsored by the Jewel Heart Chicago Sangha.

Audio Only

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism
Members Area

Chaplaincy Training

On Demand Subscription



Online Courses