In these weekly Sunday morning teachings spanning from March 2013 to December 2014, Gelek Rimpoche elaborates on the “Tibetan Buddhism” series, with the earlier sessions on the foundational Compassion for Oneself meditations, laying the ground work for the later sessions emphasizing Great Compassion for all living beings.

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism 53

The Goal of Mahayana Buddhism is Bodhimind

The three yanas (vehicle) in Mahayana Buddhism are divided into Sravakayana, Pratyekayana and Buddhayana/ Mahayana. Understanding that the differences in the scope of Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism, changes the goal from freedom from suffering, pain and misery to that of total knowledge of everything that there to be known. Hence the Mahayana path provides the practice to the perfection of the bodhimind. In both the Mahayana and Theravada path, wisdom and compassion are always present. The Four Noble Truths form the base for compassion and wisdom.

Video and audio players remember last position of what you are currently playing. If playing multiple videos, please make a note of your stop times.

This Sunday webcast, June 29, 2014 was sponsored anonymously.

Audio Only

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism
Members Area

Chaplaincy Training

On Demand Subscription



Online Courses