In these weekly Sunday morning teachings spanning from March 2013 to December 2014, Gelek Rimpoche elaborates on the “Tibetan Buddhism” series, with the earlier sessions on the foundational Compassion for Oneself meditations, laying the ground work for the later sessions emphasizing Great Compassion for all living beings.

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism 60

The Qualities of the Dharma

Up to now, our discussion has been about bodhimind, the union of compassion and wisdom, the Two Truths, and the Four Noble Truths. Today we focus on basis of our religious practice, the Three Jewels of Buddha, Dharma, and Sangha. We already discussed the eight qualities of Buddha. Of the eight qualities of dharma, the three I will mention today are: (1) it is “inconceivable” (beyond thought and words); (2) it is free of “the two” (per Jamgon Lama Tsongkhapa, contaminated karma and delusion); and (3) it is free of conceptual awareness (the 16 mistaken understandings of the Four Noble Truths).

Video and audio players remember last position of what you are currently playing. If playing multiple videos, please make a note of your stop times.

This Sunday webcast, September 7, 2014 was sponsored anonymously.

Audio Only

Essence of Tibetan Buddhism
Members Area

Chaplaincy Training

On Demand Subscription



Online Courses